Shocker softball 4-0 for first time since 1994

Published On: Feb 09 2014 03:15:49 PM CST   Updated On: Mar 17 2014 03:25:42 PM CDT

The Wichita State softball team won its fourth-straight game Sunday morning at the Lady Techster Invitational, defeating Saint Louis 3-0 in Ruston, La.

Freshman Kaitlyn Malone picked up her first career win for the Shockers, allowing four hits and striking out three in seven innings. Freshman Kelli Spring went 2-for-3 at the plate and junior Megan McCracken racked up three RBI in the victory.

Wichita State threatened to score in the bottom of the third with runners at second and third but Cacy Williams grounded out to shortstop to keep the score 0-0 heading into the fourth inning.

The Shockers and the Billikens were locked in a pitcher’s dual for the majority of the game until a three-run double by McCracken gave Wichita State the lead, 3-0 in the bottom of the fifth. Saint Louis couldn’t get any runs on the board in the top of the sixth, but held Wichita State in the bottom of the inning to get one more chance.

The Billikens got a runner on second in the top of the seventh but the Shocker defense stepped up and got the next two batters out, winning the final game in the Lady Techster Invitational, 3-0. Brianna Lore picked up the loss for Saint Louis, pitching six innings and allowing seven hits, walking three and striking out three.

Paige Luellen led the Shockers this weekend, hitting .583 in 12 at-bats with two doubles, a home run and nine RBI. Luellen added 10 putouts on the weekend with no errors for a perfect 1.000 fielding percentage. Spring hit .500 in 14 at-bats with seven hits, while Liz Broyles hit .417 in 12 at-bats with five hits, six runs, a double and two RBI.

The Shockers will travel to San Antonio, Texas Fri., Feb. 14 for the UT-San Antonio Classic. Wichita State will play Rutgers at 11:30 a.m. Friday, followed by tournament host, UT-San Antonio at 7 p.m. The Shockers will conclude the tournament Sat., Feb. 15, playing Big 12 member Oklahoma State at 9 a.m. and Colorado State at 11:30 a.m.