Shocker golf assigned to West regional

Published On: May 05 2014 03:20:31 PM CDT
WSU generic

 Fresh off its seventh-consecutive Missouri Valley Conference Championship, the Wichita State men’s golf team will head to the NCAA West Regional, May 15-17, at Eugene Country Club in Eugene, Ore.

The Shockers carded a 54-hole score of 874 (291-299-284) to capture the MVC title and defeat runner-up Illinois State by three shots and win the program’s 19th league championship. 

Chandler Rusk took home first place individually, defeating Tyler Genttilella on the third playoff hole. Rusk shot a 215 (70-75-70) over the 54-hole tournament.

Every Shocker landed in the top-20, as Louis Cohen Boyer finished in fourth place with a 218 (75-75-68), Alec Heinen finished in a tie for fifth with a 221 (73-74-74), Grant Bennett carded a 224 (77-75-72) to finish in a tie for 10th and Calvin Pearson shot a 228 (73-76-79) to finish in a tie for 20th.


Rusk, Boyer and Heinen were each named to the MVC All-Conference Team with Boyer being named the MVC Golfer of the Year. It is the third consecutive year the Shockers have taken home the Golfer of the Year award and sixth time overall. The conference started giving out the honor in 2007.

Bennett was named the MVC Newcomer of the Year and Heinen captured the league’s Elite 18 award.

Additionally, for the 12th time in his career and seventh-straight year, head coach Grier Jones was named MVC Coach of the Year.

Live stats throughout the NCAA Tournament can be found on


About the NCAA Tournament

Six 54-hole regional tournaments will be conducted May 15-17.  Thirteen teams and 10 individuals not on those teams will compete at each of three regionals while the other three regionals will have 14 teams and five individuals not on those teams. The low five teams and the low individual not on those teams from each regional will advance to the finals.


The finals will be conducted May 23-28 at Prairie Dunes Country Club in Hutchinson, Kansas. Wichita State is the host institution for the 2014 championships.


NCAA West Regional


1. Stanford [Pac-12 Conference]

2. Houston

3. Oklahoma

4. South Carolina

5. Baylor

6. Liberty [Big South Conference]

7. Oregon

8. Tennessee

9. North Florida

10. East Tennessee State

11. Tennessee-Chattanooga

12. Wichita State [Missouri Valley Conference]

13. Northern Colorado [Big Sky Conference]



1. Cody Blick, San Jose State

2. Kyle Westmoreland, Air Force

3. David Fink, Oregon State

4. Owen Taylor, Sacramento State

5. Byron Meth, Pacific

6. Tyler Torano, Loyola Marymount

7. Cory McElyea, San Francisco

8. Pete Fernandez, California Irvine

9. Alex Franklin, Oregon State

10. Frederick Wedel, Pepperdine