Marshall named NABC division 1 coach of the year

Published On: Apr 02 2014 04:35:39 PM CDT
WSU Basketball Generic
{DALLAS, Tex.} -

Coach Gregg Marshall's name is in the news again as he's won another coach of the year award.  Here is the full release from the National Association of Basketball Coaches:

Wichita State’s Gregg Marshall, who guided his team to an undefeated regular season, has been selected as the 2014 UPS Division I Coach of the Year by the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC). 

Kim Anderson of the University of Central Missouri is the 2014 NABC UPS Division II Coach of the Year while Pat Miller of UW-Whitewater won UPS Coach of the Year honors in Division III. 

All three coaches of the year will receive their awards on Sunday, April 6, at the annual AT&T NABC Guardians of the Game Awards Show at The Music Hall at Fair Park, beginning at 6 p.m. CDT. 

A year after reaching the NCAA Final Four in Atlanta, Marshall’s Shockers continued their superb play throughout the 2013-14 season, becoming the first unbeaten team to enter the NCAA tournament since UNLV in 1991. Wichita State earned one of the four top seeds this year and won its first 35 games before losing to Kentucky in the third round of the NCAA tournament. The Shockers set the NCAA record for wins in a regular-season (31) and before the NCAA tournament (34).

In his seven seasons at Wichita State, Marshall’s teams have a 174-71 record for a winning percentage of 71 percent. His career winning percentage over the course of 16 seasons as a head coach is just about the same, having guided Winthrop for nine seasons with seven NCAA tournament appearances. 

Over the last 12 years as the head coach at Central Missouri, Anderson has elevated the program to an elite level in NCAA Division II. The Mules have appeared in the NCAA Division II championship tournament seven times with three trips to the Final Four and captured the Division II title last week with an 84-77 win over West Liberty University. Anderson’s teams have won 74 percent of their games with a 274-95 record and in three seasons, including this year, have registered 30 or more wins. The Mules also rank among the top four Division II teams in attendance. 

Miller is no stranger to the awards podium, having earned UPS Coach of the Year honors in 2012 while leading UW-Whitewater to the NCAA title. This season, he guided the Warhawks to another NCAA Division III championship with a 75-73 victory over Williams in the title game in Salem, Va. UW-Whitewater finished the season with a 29-4 record, raising Miller’s 13-year record to 291-83 with a program best .778 winning percentage. Miller was the captain of the UW-Whitewater’s 1989 championship team, one of four NCAA championships for the Warhawks.