CJ Ziegler signs contract with Twins

Published On: Dec 11 2013 10:54:29 PM CST
Wingnuts generic

Former Wichita Wingnuts’ slugger C.J. Ziegler has signed a contract with the Minnesota Twins and will report to spring training with the organization in February. 

The 28- year old infielder enjoyed a record-breaking 2013 campaign.  Playing in all 107 games at first base, Ziegler hit .316 while also setting both an American Association and Wingnuts’ single-season record 30 home runs.  He also led the league by driving in 100 runs.  In addition, Ziegler finished in the top ten in the American Association in runs scored, doubles, walks, on-base percentage, and slugging percentage.  On August 21 he hit for the first cycle in franchise history against Gary SouthShore.  His impressive numbers earned him both American Association Player of the Year and Baseball America’s Independent Player of the Year for 2013.

“It was a fun two years having C.J. on our ball club,” said Wingnuts’ manager Kevin Hooper.  “For him to be named player of the year is a special achievement.  He had a terrific season and was a huge part of our team’s success on the field.  We wish him the best of luck.”

The Tucson, AZ native spent a pair of seasons with the Wingnuts and leaves as the all-time leader in home runs (48) and second in RBI (161).  In his two seasons in Wichita Ziegler hit .317 in 165 games, drew 92 walks, and racked up a .640 slugging percentage.

Ziegler is the fourth player the Wingnuts have sold to a Major League organization in 2013 and the 19th all-time.

Wingnuts Sold to Major League Organizations
OF Dustan Mohr, 2008 - Colorado Rockies
RHP Will Savage, 2010 - Los Angeles Dodgers
RHP Ben Graham, 2010 - Washington Nationals
LHP Justin Dowdy, 2010 - Tampa Bay Rays
OF Ryan Patterson, 2011 - Arizona Diamondbacks
LHP Dustin Pease, 2011 - San Diego Padres
RHP Cephas Howard, 2011 - Texas Rangers
OF Kenny Gilbert, 2011 - Chicago White Sox
OF Brent Clevlen, 2011 - Cincinnati Reds
OF Brent Clevlen, 2011 - Philadelphia Phillies
SS Jose Martinez, 2012 - Houston Astros
LHP Nate Robertson, 2012 - Toronto Blue Jays
RHP Matt Nevarez, 2012 - Tampa Bay Rays
RHP Andrew Aizenstadt, 2012 - Philadelphia Phillies
RHP James Hoyt, 2012 - Atlanta Braves
OF Adam Buschini, 2013 - San Diego Padres
RHP Jon Link, 2013 - Detroit Tigers
LHP Ryan Hinson, 2013 - Atlanta Braves
1B C.J. Ziegler, 2013 - Minnesota Twins