Race Day: The Sprint All-Star Race a Charlotte Motor Speedway

Published On: May 17 2014 02:20:54 PM CDT   Updated On: May 17 2014 02:37:56 PM CDT

NASCAR vis Getty Images

Race day part two this weekend as the top teams in NASCAR will race with a million dollar on the line at the Sprint All-Star Race. The race is made up of 19 drivers who either won this season or last, have won the All-Star race in the last 10 years or are a past champion from the last 10 years AND the three drivers who advanced from Friday’s Sprint Showdown field.

“Everybody looks forward to the All-Star race for a variety of reasons,” said Matt Kenseth. “It’s always an honor to be in it because it means you had a good season last year.  It’s a short race -- race hard for whatever the format is every lap and see how it turns out.”

The format this season is 90 laps, five segments. The first four segments are 20 laps each, the final one is a 10 lap shootout.

“Regardless of the format or how the fans vote, the event provides you with a fair chance to win the race and that's why it's a lot of fun for us,” said Ryan Newman. “It's like a championship, you have a chance. You just have to beat all the other guys doing it."

Qualifying will be held shortly before race, so we won’t know the starting line-up until later Saturday night. The 22 drivers in the event include:

AJ Allmendinger (Sprint Showdown Runner-Up)

Greg Biffle (Summer 2013 Michigan)

Clint Bowyer (Sprint Showdown Winner)

Kurt Busch (2004 Cup Champ, 2010 All-Star Race winner, Spring 2014 Martinsville)

Kyle Busch (2013 Auto Club, Spring 2013 Texas, 2013 Watkins Glen, 2013 Atlanta, 2014 Auto Club)

Dale Earnhardt Jr. (2014 Daytona 500)

Carl Edwards (2011 All-Star winner, Spring 2013 Phoenix, Fall 2013 Richmond, Spring 2014 Bristol)

Jeff Gordon (Fall 2013 Martinsville, Spring 2014 Kansas)

Denny Hamlin (2013 Homestead)

Kevin Harvick (2007 All-Star Race winner, Spring 2013 Richmond, Spring 2013 Charlotte, Fall 2013 Kansas, Spring 2013 Darlington, Spring 2014 Phoenix)

Jimmie Johnson (2006-2010 and 2013 Cup Champ, 2003/2006/2012/2013 All-Star Race winner, 2013 Daytona 500, Spring 2013 Martinsville, Spring 2013 Pocono, Summer 2013 Daytona, Fall 2013 Dover, Fall 2013 Texas)

Kasey Kahne (2008 All-Star Race winner, Spring 2013 Bristol, Summer 2013 Pocono)

Matt Kenseth (2004 All-Star Race winner, Spring 2013 Las Vegas, Spring 2013 Kansas, 2013 Darlington, 2013 Kentucky, Fall 2013 Bristol, 2013 Chicagoland, Fall 2013 New Hampshire)

Brad Keselowski (2012 Cup Champ, Fall 2013 Charlotte, Spring 2014 Las Vegas)

Joey Logano (Fall 2013 Michigan, Spring 2014 Texas, Spring 2014 Richmond)

Jamie McMurray (Fall 2013 Talladega)

Ryan Newman (2013 Indianapolis)

David Ragan (Spring 2013 Talladega)

Tony Stewart (2005 and 2011 Cup Champ, 2009 All-Star Race winner, Summer 2013 Dover)

Martin Truex Jr. (2013 Sonoma)

Brian Vickers (2013 Summer New Hampshire)

Josh Wise (Fan Vote)

Every driver in the field, to a man will be focused on one thing, bringing home that million dollar prize for being first to the checkered flag.

“The Sprint All-Star race is a blast and right now we have got nothing to do but go there and win a million bucks, and that’s about as good as it gets on a Saturday night for a race car driver,” said Edwards. “Qualifying is a blast, so hopefully that goes well. There is also the knowledge that we can acquire during the All-Star race and apply to the Coca-Cola 600. We have a lot of fun stuff to work on, no real pressure other than to go win a race, and hopefully it’s a good show.” 

Qualifying is set to get underway at 6:10pm Central, with the green flag on the Sprint All-Star race scheduled for about 8:17 pm.

“Hopefully we’re in contention coming down to the last segment,” said Hamlin. “Because you better believe I’ll be going for the win.”