Fed help available after storms

Published On: May 07 2014 02:59:49 PM CDT
Anthony Elementary Evacuated
TOPEKA, Kan. -

The Kansas Division of Emergency Management received notice May 7 that the state has been granted a Small Business Administration disaster declaration for Cherokee County and adjacent counties.

Kansas Governor Sam Brownback requested the declaration after an EF2 tornado struck the town of Baxter Springs April 27, destroying and damaging a number of homes and businesses.

The declaration names Cherokee County as the primary county and Crawford and Labette as contiguous counties.

It also includes Japer and Newton Counties in Missouri, and Craig and Ottawa Counties in Oklahoma.

The declaration was granted on the basis of the results of joint preliminary damage assessments conducted state of Kansas, SBA and FEMA.

To qualify for SBA loans, a community must have a certain amount of structural loss and a portion of those properties must be uninsured.